PCgoblin's Blog

Fixing everyday PC problems on my PC

Fix “Invalid media or Track 0 bad – disk unusable” on USB drive

Wanting to save a file away from my network  disks, I dug up an old USB drive. Unfortunately when I tried saving to it, I got the message Invalid media or Track 0 bad – disk unusable.

About to give up, I searched for a solution on the web – and found it! All I needed to do was to move the write protect tab on the USB key. So small, I had forgotten about it.

Saved me binning the USB drive!

January 26, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

2 Comments »

  1. where is the write protect tab on the usbb key?

    Comment by Anonymous | December 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Not all USB sticks have write-protect tabs. When they do, this is usually a small switch on the side of the USB stock.

      If you do not have one, then I do not know how to solve your problem!

      Comment by logicalc | December 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment